Moments for me

If you haven’t noticed, Camp Colombo has been a bit quiet lately.  I am taking a grad. class online and it is keeping me busy elsewhere on top of all the normal “mom” things I do.  I love the class and it really is rejuvenating my desire to teach, but the discussion posts and papers are sucking me dry of thoughts.  You could say my class is “hogging my blogging”.  (Just some corny me humor for all of you.  I always was a big Fozzie Bear fan – Wacka Wacka Wacka)

Today I grabbed some “me” time and cooked.  I made Fettuccine Alfredo for dinner because I was craving something rich and creamy.  I printed the recipe from Ree Drummond’s blog, The Pioneer Woman, and it was delicious!  It was simple too, about 5 ingredients to mix together.  Use the link to find her site and search for the recipe.  While you’re there, check out the basset hounds.  They are a smile and a half!

I started applesauce today also.  Our local grocery store puts big, wooden bins out front this time of year and you can buy local apples in bulk.  I fill up my recyclable bag and make applesauce.  Nothing tastes like homemade applesauce, another easy recipe using apples, sugar, some apple juice or cider, and cinnamon to taste.  I wish I could give you measurements, but I don’t cook like that.  I toss it in and stir, let it cook, taste, then toss some more in depending on what my taste buds tell me.  I would have been the perfect pioneer woman, because I use my hands as measuring cups and spoons.

I know this doesn’t sound like relaxation to some people, and I understand the head scratching.  It’s the same feeling I get when people talk about working out.  I cringe.  Why spend my time getting all sweaty and achy when I could be making something yummy to eat?  My philosophy does explain why many of my pants are slightly tight and where the love handles came from.  But who really expects me to look like Sandra Bullock?  She has the time and money to hire personal trainers to work out for her.  I bet she didn’t have Fettuccine Alfredo that tasted as good as mine tonight, nor will she have a shelf of homemade applesauce to eat this winter.  Unless she has her personal chef whip it up…

Oh well, I’m not Sandra, nor do I think I ever will be.  I’m just going to be a woman in her mid-forties with some mini love handles eating applesauce and dishes covered in cheese, hoping the Republicans can find a decent candidate for President.  But that’s a whole different blog.

One thought on “Moments for me

  1. Peggy, own those love handles!! They were made with love from your very own kitchen 🙂 I would love to make my own applesauce, but finding fruit that is cheap and by bulk eludes me here. sigh. Even so, there’s nothing like fresh apples from home – but then I’m partial. Happy Blogging!

Leave a Reply

