I need an exorcism

Did you ever feel like Linda Blair in the movie, The Exorcism?  Not the part about being possessed, although I am sure some are nodding their heads “yes, she needs an exorcism”, but where her head spins around and around.  That’s the part.  Where you don’t know when it will stop, but as pieces of the walls around you flash by, you catch glimpses of what is pressing in, demanding attention.  And I don’t have time in the normal 24 hour day to fit it all in, unless I give up sleep, and that is NOT happening.  I get too grouchy.

Unless you live under a rock, you know the eastern part of the US has gotten quite a bit of rain in the last few weeks.  And if you did live under a rock in WNY, you don’t anymore, you have been washed away.   On the bright side (pun intended), the grass is a lovely, vibrant (long) green.  My bulbs have grown into breathtaking flowers with deeper, clearer colors than in years past.   For the Coach, this just isn’t enough.  We should be in the middle of baseball season.  Seven to eight games behind is not in the middle.  Especially with less than 3 weeks left to squeeze it all in.  We are looking at two and a half solid weeks of double headers, because the rain isn’t going to stop until tomorrow, and then we have to wring out the outfield somehow.  Suffice it to say, my answer to any questions about time revolve around rephrasing, “I don’t know what’s happening with baseball yet.”  It makes scheduling a bigger nightmare than normal.  Just one of those pieces hanging on the wall as my head spins round.

It’s a busy time, spring always is.  JMumbo plays Little League, the prodigal daughter is running track (which she has decided would be okay if there was less RUNNING), and the Coach is coaching.  The bonus to the rain is I can’t feel badly about the gardens not being weeded.  I would sink to my ankles if I tried.  The vegetable garden looks great, if you want to harvest weeds.  But as Doris Day would say, “Que Sera, Sera”.  So that’s one thing off the wall.  Taking care of the day to day, entertaining a fourth grade boy who is stuck inside without letting him stare at the TV, making the fifth trip of the week to the grocery store when you’re only two days in, watching Glee with the prodigal daughter (which actually is a positive), these are the pieces that plaster my walls.

It makes my head spin, and spin, and spin.  I’d like to stop the ride and get off now.

Leave a Reply

